Print Page   |   Sign In
Community Search
Tedric A. Harris Bearing Industry Scholarship
Share |

About the ABMA Scholarship Program

In honor of Professor Tedric A. Harris, ABMA established a program for interns at ABMA member companies in 2011. This year, the association will focus on honoring engineering students who have completed internships at ABMA member companies in the bearing field. 

The ABMA Engineering Education Committee will select two outstanding applicants to receive $2,500 each towards their education. 


ABMA is accepting applications for the 2018 Tedric A. Harris Scholarship program until the extended deadline of August 31, 2018. Please submit all completed applications to



Requirements for All Applicants

Please download the application for a full list of requirements and ABMA member companies.

  • Applicants must be an undergraduate student at a college or university, having completed at least two years of courses in ABET accredited engineering curriculum with an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher.
  • Applicants must have completed an internship at an ABMA member company in the 2018 year. 
  • Applicants must submit the following items:
    • ABMA scholarship application completed
    • An essay upon completion of the internship describing your experience, work performed, and how you benefited from the placement
    • Letter of recommendation and signature from your internship supervisor
    • Undergraduate transcript
    • Up to date resume or curriculum vitae

About Professor Tedric A. Harris

Throughout his productive career, Professor Tedric A. Harris contributed significantly to the bearing industry both as a professor in mechanical engineering and in private industry. Professor Harris has been a role model and mentor for numerous young engineers in the bearing field and many of his mentees have become leaders in the field through their work within their companies and the American Bearing Manufacturing Association.

As an employee for SKF USA Inc. and AB SKF, Professor Harris’s key positions included Managing Director the of SKF Engineering & Research Center in the Netherlands and in the United States, Vice President Product Technology and Quality, President of SKF Tribonetics and Vice President of Engineering and Research for MRC Bearings.

Professor Harris received both his B.S and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Penn State University and where he was appointed as a professor of mechanical engineering following his retirement from private industry in 1991. In addition to holding three U.S. patents, Professor Harris has authored more than 60 technical publications, including the industry standard Roller Bearing Analysis, now in its fifth edition.



Past Recipients

Austin Robichaud

Kettering University
Schaeffler Group USA

2017 Recipient

 Austin Robichaud

Benjamin Smith

Clemson University
Schaeffler Group USA

2017 Recipient

Benjamin Smith 
 Ean Dickerhoof
 The Timken Company
 2016 Recipient
 Jeremy Bourque
 Koyo Corporation
 2016 Recipient
Alexander Woodward
2015 Recipient
Brian Harrell
2013 Recipient
Michael Spinelli
2013 Recipient
Michael Gonzalez
2012 Recipient
Abigail Jenkins
2011 Recipient




 For further information please contact ABMA at or 202.367.1155

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal